Captivate 2019 files backwards compatible with 2017 files?

May 16, 2019
Newbie 2 posts
Followers: 0 people
10

Captivate 2019 files backwards compatible with 2017 files?

Newbie 2 posts
Followers: 0 people
May 16, 2019

My company bought 2017 when it came out and I subsequently created themes and templates using that version. We’ve recently hired a contractor to help me with a project, and my IT dept. is saying Adobe will no longer allow us to purchase the 2017 version, and that we must get version 2019 for the contractor.

The contractor and I will be working on and editing the same files over a long period of time.

I am assuming the contractor will be able to open my 2017 files and apply the themes.

However, when the contractor saves their files in 2019, will I be able to open them in 2017 without any issues?

More specifically, will the project open correctly with no changes to fonts, interactions, elements, timings, etc.?

Comments (10)
2019-05-20 10:49:37
2019-05-20 10:49:37

Majority of things are already explained by Lieve Weymeis… I would say that forget about backward compatibility, even it may not be forward compatible in some case.

90% of the time there won’t be a problem, but to be in the safer side,

best approach would be: a) always keep multiple backups, so that you are safe when you open in another version, it may be saved in that version with added problems.  b.) if possible, keep both versions in different system to avoid any problem.

Like
(6)
>
chandresh shah
's comment
2019-05-20 19:53:37
2019-05-20 19:53:37
>
chandresh shah
's comment

As most professionals do, I always keep multiple backups. Corporate employees typically don’t have access to multiple systems, nor are they allowed to keep both versions of Captivate simultaneously; Adobe insists that the previous version be removed from the machine. At any rate, I upgraded to 2019 on Friday, so my issue has been resolved. Thanks for commenting.

Like
>
kellykelley
's comment
2019-05-20 20:35:23
2019-05-20 20:35:23
>
kellykelley
's comment

Sorry, what you say about Adobe is not correct. If you have perpetual licenses you can have as many version as you want. With a subscription license you can have the two most recent versions on the same system.

Like
>
Lieve Weymeis
's comment
2019-05-22 23:53:48
2019-05-22 23:53:48
>
Lieve Weymeis
's comment

You’re right Lieve, upon further investigation it turns out it is my corporate IT dept. that doesn’t allow the multiple copies. In fact, my Creative Cloud updates came through today and I have both the old and new versions of each program. Good to know there are few restrictions from Adobe in this area.

Like
>
kellykelley
's comment
2019-05-23 08:17:31
2019-05-23 08:17:31
>
kellykelley
's comment

Since I posted my comment, the situation has changed. Look at the feature in the home page about only the most recent release being authorized? For CC the two most recent versions are still allowed. Weird situation…

Like
>
Lieve Weymeis
's comment
2019-05-23 22:11:01
2019-05-23 22:11:01
>
Lieve Weymeis
's comment

Oh really? Hmm. Never a dull moment!

Like
>
kellykelley
's comment
2019-05-24 07:01:44
2019-05-24 07:01:44
>
kellykelley
's comment

Feel very sad about that, want to know more but didn’t succeed at having more information.

Like
2019-05-18 07:38:55
2019-05-18 07:38:55

Another feature that may be conflicting: if you are working on a responsive project, there have been changes for fluid boxes, which may lead to themes which are not compatible between the two versions.

Like
2019-05-17 07:43:29
2019-05-17 07:43:29

Will not discuss about the semantics of ‘backwards compatibility’. To say it shortly:

You can open a CP2017 file in CP2019, but may have to check if everything is working as expected due to new features. Once the file is saved in CP2019, it cannot be opened in CP2017 anymore. You need to use the same version if you are collaborating.

Like
(1)
>
Lieve Weymeis
's comment
2019-05-20 19:51:01
2019-05-20 19:51:01
>
Lieve Weymeis
's comment

Semantics? Backwards compatibility is a term that has been used for decades, not sure why you comment regarding semantics.

Turns out our corporate subscription includes upgrading to the latest version, so I upgraded to 2019 on Friday. Indeed, any file created with an earlier version will be updated automatically upon opening, and you cannot go back to earlier versions. I can see this being an issue for contractors who design in 2019, and then turn over source files to corporations who may not have upgraded yet, which will essentially force them to upgrade. At any rate, my issue is resolved, thanks for the response.

Like
Add your comment